Wiki Home Diablo 4 Guides Builds Build Planner Map Diablo 2 Guides Forums Support PureDiablo Vessel of Hatred

World Tiers

From Diablo 4 Wiki

The Diablo series is known for its difficulty levels and Diablo 4 will also include different difficulty levels to make content more challenging. These are called World Tiers.

When You Start

When you load the game for the first time, it will prompt you to chose Adventurer or Veteran. If you are new to the game and have no idea about Diablo then take the easy route and pick Adventurer. Pick Veteran if you have played a Diablo game before.

Select your starting tier
Select your starting tier

Diablo 4 World Tiers (Difficulty Levels)

Torment levels detailed below are correct as of the Diablo 4 Beta test.

World Tier 1

World Tier 1: Adventurer

Recommended for new players to Diablo or want a light challenge

  • Enemies are easy to defeat
  • Drops are average

We don't recommend starting on this tier, it will be a lot less of a challenge.

World Tier 2

World Tier 2: Veteran

Recommended for Diablo veterans who want to be tested

  • Enemies will challenge you
  • Better drops 15% more gold
  • Increased 20% XP
World Tier 3

World Tier 3: Nightmare

For players who desire more challenge.

  • Unlocked by completing the Cathedral of Light dungeon in World Tier 2: Veteran.
  • Recommended Level: 50
  • Champion monsters now have a chance to appear.
  • Sacred items now have a chance of dropping.
  • Nightmare Sigils which in turn unseal Nightmare Dungeons are unlocked.
  • Non-Physical resistances are reduced by 20%.
  • Monsters 100% more experience.
  • Monsters drop 15% more gold.
World Tier 4

World Tier 4: Torment

Even stronger challenges await in the dark.

  • Unlocked by completing the Fallen Temple dungeon in World Tier 3: Nightmare in the Dry Steppes.
  • Recommended Level: 70+
  • Ancestral and Unique items can drop.
  • Rare Nightmare Sigils unsealing more difficult challenges are unlocked.
  • Non-Physical resistances are reduced by 20%.

When can you access a new World Tier?

Players have to complete and end-cap dungeon to progress to a new World Tier. These dungeons are larger and more deadly than other dungeons on the game and will prove a real challenge.

How do you select World Tiers?

In the centre of Kyovashad there is a World Tier statue which if you click will pop up this interface.

Changing your World Tier terminates all active portals and resets all incomplete Whisper progress. Players will need to be on the same World Tier to form a party.

How will the game become more challenging?

Higher World Tiers will be more challenging with monsters being tougher and new monster mechanics come into play.


Blizzard had changed the difficulty levels by the time the the beta launched. Previously there had been five levels with Hell being the fourth level and Torment the fifth. The Hell naming was removed and changed to Torment making only four World Tiers as of the Diablo 4 Beta.

World Tiers selection interface
Old screenshot of World Tiers pre-beta.
World Tier 4

World Tier 4: Hell

Even stronger challenges await in the dark.

  • Unlocked by completing the Fallen Temple dungeon in World Tier 3: Nightmare.
  • Recommended Level: 60 [PH]
  • Sacred items drop more frequently.
  • Rare Nightmare Sigils unsealing more difficult challenges are unlocked.
  • Non-Physical resistances are reduced by 30%.
World Tier 5

World Tier 5: Torment

Fight the strongest, most fierce demons in all of Sanctuary.

  • Unlocked by completing the Archives of Issalia dungeon in World Tier 4: Hell.
  • Recommended Level: 100
  • Ancestral items have a low chance of dropping.
  • New Unique items can be found.
  • Non-Physical resistances are reduced by 40%.

Previous Diablo Games

Diablo 1 / Diablo 2

Diablo1 and Diablo 2 gave players the options of Normal, Nightmare and Hell.

Diablo 1

Hellfire supported Nightmare and Hell difficulty for single player characters, this is not a feature in the regular Diablo. In regular D1, you can only play NM and Hell with multiplayer characters. (You must be level 20+ to create a Nightmare game, or level 30+ to create a hell game.

Nightmare and Hell can be enabled for single player characters with this trick .

  • Start a multiplayer game on Nightmare or Hell, exit it (after however long), and then
  • AStart a new game with a single player character.
  • The single player game will be whatever difficulty the last multiplayer game was.
  • You must do this in the same play session (i.e. without closing and restarting Diablo)

Multilayer monsters will now have have double the hit points and other elements of the game are increased in difficulty as well.

Diablo 2

Normal, Nightmare and Hell returned in Diablo 2. See Diablo 2 Difficulties page for full details on how they differ from each other.

Diablo 3

Diablo 3 changed the difficulty settings from the previous two games. Monsters changed in the following ways[1]:

  • Normal: 100% Health, 100% Damage, 0% extra gold bonus, 0% extra XP bonus
  • Hard: 200% Health, 130% Damage, 75% extra gold bonus, 75% extra XP bonus
  • Expert: 320% Health, 189% Damage, 100% extra gold bonus, 100% extra XP bonus
  • Master: 512% Health, 273% Damage, 200% extra gold bonus, 200% extra XP bonus
  • Torment I: 819% Health, 396% Damage, 300% extra gold bonus, 300% extra XP bonus
  • Torment II: 1311% Health, 575% Damage, 400% extra gold bonus, 400% extra XP bonus
  • Torment III: 2097% Health, 833% Damage, 550% extra gold bonus, 550% extra XP bonus
  • Torment IV: 3355% Health, 1208% Damage, 800% extra gold bonus, 800% extra XP bonus
  • Torment V: 5369% Health, 1752% Damage, 1150% extra gold bonus, 1150% extra XP bonus
  • Torment VI: 8590% Health, 2540% Damage, 1600% extra gold bonus, 1600% extra XP bonus
  • Torment VII: 18985% Health, 3604% Damage, 1850% extra gold bonus, 1900% extra XP bonus
  • Torment VIII: 41625% Health, 5097% Damage, 2150% extra gold bonus, 2425% extra XP bonus
  • Torment IX: 91260% Health, 7208% Damage, 2500% extra gold bonus, 3100% extra XP bonus
  • Torment X: 200082% Health, 10194% Damage, 2900% extra gold bonus, 4000% extra XP bonus
  • Torment XI: 438669% Health, 14416% Damage, 3350% extra gold bonus, 5000% extra XP bonus
  • Torment XII: 961759% Health, 20387% Damage, 3900% extra gold bonus, 6400% extra XP bonus
  • Torment XIII: 2108607% Health, 28832% Damage, 4500% extra gold bonus, 8200% extra XP bonus
  • Torment XIV: 2889383% Health, 40774% Damage, 5200% extra gold bonus, 10500% extra XP bonus
  • Torment XV: 6334823% Health, 57664% Damage, 6050% extra gold bonus, 13400% extra XP bonus
  • Torment XVI: 13888770% Health, 64725% Damage, 7000% extra gold bonus, 17000% extra XP bonus