Etdlahq Memorial Bar - your shelter from forum crashes

Windows 8 + StartIsBack is just as good as 7. I only have a laptop with 8, so I have no experience building my own.

I've heard Win8 is a bit of a stretch for most users, and I generally avoid "new" Windows for a year or so after release. They tend to discover bugs as people use them, and then patch them pretty quickly. By 6months -> a year, most of the serious bugs have been found (by users,) and patched, and a new Windows is already in development.

Good to know there is general consent against Windows 8 though.
I'll probably stick with Win7, or 10 if that isn't possible.

I think I'll stick with onlinecomputers, possibly despite /some/ negative reviews, as I do think I used them several years ago for this laptop, which has served its purpose pretty well... Unless I can find something better on Umart (which used to be quite a reputable QLD company years ago, and still appear very strong.) I believe onlineC has been around for quite a while, so can't be completely aweful. Definitely in need of an upgrate.
Just, In My Mind, wondering about getting the SSD as a backup HDD. I wish I knew more about them, but it appears that they aren't very common within this forum.

*prepares self as guinea pig*

So, it's like tequila - if you have 7 shots of tequila, you're in a great place, a really good dancer, and everything is as it should be. You throw down that 8th shot, and all Hell breaks loose - the neighbors are calling the cops about you trying to rappel off the balcony, someone put fireworks in the oven and turned on the broiler, and a pony no one has seen before somehow ended up in the bathtub. Undaunted, you push through, and sink a 9th and 10th shot - suddenly, the sun appears from behind some clouds, you find your wallet, and it turns out that's not the police at the door but some guy bringing you burritos. We've all been there.
Yep I've been there.