Waiting, Wishing, Hoping (for a gull)

Feb 3, 2011
I've started over completely, and while mfing for a gull dagger, I found suicide looking strangely appealing.

Is mfing for a gull supposed to be this painful? I've never actually actively searched for one, they usually just dropped over time. But I'd really like one for the my level 22 sorcy, and running Coldcrow and Andy just isn't working. I may not have the best of mf right now (~170% w/ merc) but I'd thought after 5 hours I'd have something to show for my effort. Pelta Lunata isn't bad I guess.

Am I being too hasty? I'm no novice to mfing, but with the 1:833 odds of Coldcrow (or whatever it is), I thought it'd be a cinch to find.

Kinda asking for advice, but mainly just making sure I'm not crazy:crazyeyes:

Thanks.

P.S. 1.12v (if it's pertinent)

you have a better chance than that, if I'm not mistaken.
I recently did this for 2 gulls in the slow and steady tournament (multi-pass, weird builds preferred). I had a singer, so with item find I pumped that quite a bit. Still, you have teleport so it should be even faster for you.
Ignore andy completely. She takes too much effort, unless you have an amazing map or something.
Do you have gambled boots and gloves? If you can get boots with 20 frw and 20+ mf then you're golden. I had this with a char who did the same thing for a gull, and he was about level 20 when I gambled those boots.
I don't think it's a waste of time :p Just be persistent.
If it helps, I found the first gull pretty quickly, but then it took maybe 200+ more runs for the next. I complained about it a lot in that thread. I'm not sure how many runs I did, but it was certainly less than 350 for both of them.
Is it a bow merc? They will get the kill more easily because they won't be frozen and chasing them.
Give both yourself and the merc a zephyr bow for the frw and 1-50 lite damage (if you need it, but the frw you will want).
Good luck!