Refined Tastes

come back zinc

Sep 4, 2007
I'm starting up a new ladder season after a multi-year sabbatical. It didn't take long to settle into the old hotkeys and subroutines, but it has taken longer to find the right drink.

It used to be that, as a younger player, I would just drink whatever beer was left in the fridge (early 2000s). Miscellaneous beers, fruit-flavoured malts (ick), occasionally some chilled vodka. When I started playing HC (late 2000s), I would drink mostly Rum & Coke (especially when playing as a bear; dark beers for the 'zon). Now, I'm not sure how to approach it. That's not to say I need to have a drink when playing, but some nights its nice to party-up with a potent elixir. I tried cider the other night, but it just didn't feel right.

So here's my question: how have you refined your drink/play style? Have you always stuck to one tried and true friend? Or do you like to mix it up? Do you have a different drink depending on the character you play? I would think that those people who stick to the same builds probably stick to the same drinks - anyone have a better theory?

I don't drink often, but...

Any IPA ? 7% does the trick, preferably in bomber form (because it's going to blow up your liver, dude!).

I'm looking to expand my horizons with various distilled spirits (I dig on whiskey). I've even been looking up some red wines to try out. Gotta keep the red orb (glass) full, y'know? I'm pretty inexperienced with both, so I haven't yet picked out any specifics.

I went old-school on Friday night - I found some Moosehead in the back of the fridge and cleaned up.

Saturday was a Rum & Coke night.

Yesterday was a 7% local brew I found at the grocery store. A little too yeasty for my tastes, though it certainly had a kick.