Gear and Leveling Help

Anthro Emesis

Jul 16, 2008
Gear and Leveling Help

I'm currently level 29 Barb. I made it to Diablo but was unable to defeat him so I'm trying to get better gear and level up some before the fight.

I'm currently running Mephisto in order to get gear. Is this a good spot or should I try somewhere else?

I apologize if I'm not using the proper terminology, I'm still learning this game and slang.

Thanks.

Re: Gear and Leveling Help

If you can easily kill Mephisto then he's as good a place as any to find some early gear and you should be still getting a bit of experience.

Try and get high fire and lightning resist against Diablo since that's his two strongest attacks.

Also MDR is very useful and if you can get around 10 total it can eliminate a fair chunk of his elemental damage.

Leech will help out too. If you can get a combination of those things you should be able to take him.

If you list your skills and current gear it might help with some more advice.

Best of luck, Diablo can be a tough cookie.

Shame that, even after the expansion came out, Diablo is STILL the toughest boss monster in the game--Baal doesn't even come close.

Still, getting a couple of levels and some decent equipment would help tons. Make sure you have good resists. Cold damage to slow the big red guy down helps too, and if Diablo holds his hands together in front of him, get the heck out of Dodge before he blasts you with his pink lightning attack...that one is by far the worst he's got in his arsenal.

Baal is harder for some characters imho (or maybe just annoying, because he has more life)

EDIT: On topic - try to shop for wand of lifetap from Malah and use the Lifetap charges on him and tank him. If you can survive his firestorm and lightning hose, you will kill him easily.

Hrus - He has to beat Diablo to get to Malah. ;)