What weapon to gamble for?

Ergro

Jun 20, 2021
Hello!

it is my first time truly trying untwinked /p8 HC and with Fana Zealot at that (I almost never played truly meele characters, so I thought why not give myself extra new experience) and just now I finally got over normal Mephisto at fresh levels 30, which honestly saved my ass, because Salvation is truly a one skill wonder.

So far I have Zeal at 5 hits, lvl 1 Fana, lvl 1 Salvation, lvl 1 Holy Shield and rest in Sacrifice for extra Zeal damage. Also I am using Prayer Act 2 Merc ATM.

I am not exactly against rerunning areas, but unless I am missing something, at this point of the game it is not really any good to rerun anything anyway? Considering that beating Mephisto, while not extremely dangerous, took pretty long.

As for gear I am using right now, I have various lvl topazed two socket helm and three socket armor, Sander's gloves (courtesy of Mephisto!), Vidala's boots, MF rings and amulet, random rare paladin shield with some extra resists and blocking and as for a weapon I am using a Steel Crystal Sword right now.

It is honestly not that bad when it comes to killing speed so far, but obviously I will need soon a decent upgrade and unless I am lucky with some unique drop, I am looking for something I can try to probably gamble.

Could any of you give me any advice what to look for?

Thanks.

Reactions: Swamigoon and Arjan
I would probably go for a runeword before I would take the gambling option. With a prayer merc you might go for Malice to get you through normal.

As a rule of thumb I usually rerun locations when I start having problems killing stuff until I find something better. In this case I’ d either go for Lower Kurast with its many chests and pots for stuff to find or good old countess for runes.

Reactions: Zyr and Coyote_Sly
Well in that case I have every rune up to Amn, though I have no decent bases atm.