My introduction and the beginning of a Royal Dynasty

lizard

Apr 13, 2021
I am a long time lurker from the old forums. My main active phase was during 1.11 until some years after 1.13 came out, after which I took a break from D2.
I played mostly softcore back then and build a good collection of characters, which are collecting dust on one of my hardrives. Some years after D3 and reapers came out I started playing that and was hooked for a good while (2014-2016 ish). My time in D3 also converted me to playing hardcore, to increase the challenge. In the end, I found D3 to be a bit too simplistic and limiting in my choice of items and playstyle, but enjoyed some of the builds there, especially the explosive blast wizard. The stacking of delayed explosions was really enjoyable.

I rediscovered my love for D2 in 2020 and played some mods here and there and dabbled in older versions. During the past weeks and months I have had much more time to devote to D2 and have spent most of my time in HC 1.00, which brings me to the purpose of this post.

King Maahes​

I was inspired by @art_vandelay 's post , because i am not a huge fan of Barbs and wanted to try something new.
Totally have to agree with art, Hdin is a powerhouse in 1.00, with some caveats.
The first 20 levels were quite slow and i spent 5 points in smite to make it easier to hit stuff. I was mainly smiting and just hitting things with my weapon. Self-MP helped a bit here to make leveling easier, but it was a bit of a slog to be honest, since I played untwinked. I should have gambled much earlier, but I was relying more on drops, because i did not know any better.
Once I hit lvl 18-22 things went much smoother. I invested into energy quite early (to 50) to have a better mana pool and i think that it is crucial to have any fun. This is probably not necessary on twinked chars, but i like to have more mana available, and this build does not really need too much str or dex.