Help With MF Sorc

roborobo

Aug 6, 2010
Help With MF Sorc

Hi guys (sorry in advance for a lengthy post),

So I started playing again 3 days ago, and decided to make a mf sorc (thinking that would be the best / cheapest / easiest class to start over with). Of course I turned to arreat and diabloii, which I believe this forum is now, and started looking for updated sorc guides. I read some threads, and it seemed like the consensus that a cold /fire sorc would work best for what i wanted.

I created a meteorber, and after playing around with skill resets and what not, I cannot survive hell mf runs. I use to put in all my points into vit, but after reading the max block page, I decided to give it a try. Can someone explain to me how max block is suppose to help a sorc? I am under the assumption that you only receive the blocking bonus while standing still, and I am never sitting there tanking hits. I just get eaten up by hell mephisto's spells, where 1 orb takes almost my entire life pool.

My setup is as follows:

LVL 85 Sorc
Stat points:
156 STR
rest in dex

Gear:
Shako
Maras
Tal Armor
Occy / Wiz
Spirit Mon.
chance / magefist
arach
silkweave / trav

Skill Points:
Max FO + 1 in prereqs
6 cold mastery
1 in static, TK, and Tele
1 Warmth
max meteor
9 fire ball 10 FM

I find I get owned very fast by hell andy and meph, with 52,75,75,36 resists in hell. Could someone give me tips on how to improve my build, and what kind of stat distribution works best?

I'm around 500 health and mana with charms, and drop too fast. Please also recommend me gear swaps. My merc also drops super quickly, an A2 defensive merc lvl 84, with Tals mask, duriels, and uniq partizan.

Sorry again for the lengthy post, but it's been really frustrating trying to get this build to work, I'm very close to just scrapping for a hammerdin.

Re: Help With MF Sorc