Diablospeak

Len the Man

Aug 18, 2007
Diablospeak

Hello everybody,

I'm a student of English at the University of Ghent. As part of my exam for English language proficiency II, I have to do a presentation about 1 of a given set of linguistic subjects. One of the subjects in the list is Netspeak, so I thought I'd take that. I would start by giving a basic description and all that stuff and then start talking about gaming language and particularly "Diablospeak", as I'm most familiar with that.

It would great to hear some of your thoughts on the matter. This is aimed particularly at the more senior forum members.

For instance: it seems to me that the restricted length of game names has lead the names of items in Diablo have often been abbreviated. It's my impression that in MMOs this happens a lot less.
A very interesting case in point is the Shako. This item is so popular that the generic name (of the white item) has taken on the specific meaning of Harlequin's Crest. I'm wondering is if this has always been the case. In other words, was there a time when it was not called the Shako but some other name?

Another thing I remember reading on this forum is about the Buriza. Apparently it used to be THE bow and it was called the Cannon or something. The game was then patched and the Buriza lost its uberness and consequently its special name. If anyone can confirm this, I think it would make a strong point for language change in game language.

And it doesn't necessarily have to be about items. The fishymancer for example is a term most players will recognise and illustrates how individuals can influence this language.

Any ideas or comments are welcome. Thanks for your help,
Len

Re: Diablospeak