Map seed and item drop

DudSpud

Aug 27, 2004
Map seed and item drop

I fear this thread could degenerate into a "philosophical discussion" (ie flame war), and I want to say up front I AM NOT ASKING FOR SEEDS, but I would like to know...

I have had a lot of trouble in HC recently getting to Guardian, so I decided to make a Blizz sorc (ok, 2, RIP Clara_VI on her way to Hell AT...) to farm for better items (I lost many of the good ones to Deeds). Single tree sorcs are easier than I thought through Conqueror, and I decided to begin with NM Meph after lvling to 80 in Baal runs.

Maybe I am just a newb, but I have noticed that the drops are strikingly different depending on the map I have. My maps changed only because I typically drink and drive (my toon), and several times I have accidently changed acts, thus losing my previous map. Oh, and I am talking hundreds of runs per change of seed. My first seed dropped Tal's hats like crazy, but no Viper's. Then Viper's all day (though all < 30 AllRes :cry:), but no Tal hats. You get the idea.

So my question - does map seed influence TC's or other drop chances? I ask, because I am on the hunt for a Titan's, and Clara _VII is on the same seed for several hundred runs, and though all the 'Gazes are nice, I am starting to suspect it is time to move on.

Thanks, and probably sorry,
TehSpud

Re: Map seed and item drop

RTB says no. My experience says yes.

Seed definitely plays a role in some drops (racks), but monster/chest drops are significantly more complex. To the best of my knowledge (and I've discussed this with a lot of very knowledgable people), there isn't hard proof either way, and I don't expect that there ever will be. So, just bear in mind that everything everyone says in response to this is an opinion.