• These forum archives have been curated by the community bringing two decades of Diablo 2 knowledge to new players. They are purely for reference and cannot be posted in. Use the main PureDiablo forums for all new conversation.

Which Merc can do most elemental damage?

salvo

Jul 8, 2004
T R I S T R A M D2EXP v1.12 RRM/RWM
Which Merc can do highest elemental damage?

Hello everyone

i'm planning to build an Enchantress (twinked) without any backup attack skill, so against PI i will rely solely on my merc. Which merc and setup gear is the most appropriate? Choices are:

Fire rogue
Lighting iron wolf
act2 or barb with certain gear setup? Rainbow facet is essential?

Thankyou in advance

-salvo

Llathias

Banned
Mar 12, 2005
Turkey
i have no experience with Enchant, but wouldn't the synergized skill with Fire Mastery be enough to get rid of PIs? if you go with a Act2 Def (Holy Freeze) merc, you'll have additional cold damage as well, plus the slow effect which will be very helpful. don't forget that you can Enchant him as well.

btw, IIRC, Fire Mastery is applied twice when using enchant. first when you cast the spell, and second when you actually deal the dmg.

jiansonz

Jun 22, 2003
Malmö, Sweden
Visit site
Llathias said:
btw, IIRC, Fire Mastery is applied twice when using enchant. first when you cast the spell, and second when you actually deal the dmg.

Correct, but only if the sorceress herself is attacking, and only in melee. The Enchanted weapon is treated like any weapon with fire damage, and Fire Mastery boosts those (same with lightning damage and its Mastery; and cold damage weapons take advantage of the reduced resistance due to Cold Mastery)

salvo

Jul 8, 2004
Llathias said: