• These forum archives have been curated by the community bringing two decades of Diablo 2 knowledge to new players. They are purely for reference and cannot be posted in. Use the main PureDiablo forums for all new conversation.

Untwinked Barb

badmooddude

Jul 19, 2005
Somewhere....
Untwinked Barb

Hi everyone,

(You can skip to the bottom if you don't want to read my whole Diablo II life story)

Ok, I have read many of the barbarian guides in this forum as well as in the strategy compendium, and it seems like the biggest aspect of making a viable barb build is the equipment used. I really don't have a lot of time to play the game, as I can only play for at most 3-4 hours a week, mostly on the weekends. I started playing Diablo II again, after a long break, towards the end of 1.10, where I built a frost zealot paladin. He did pretty well, but I got bored of him at lvl 45, as I was only using two skills, and those two skills only. Then, I made a charged strike/lightning fury amazon, which I had a lot of fun with. I twinked a little from a paladin, giving my amazon a titans (long story). When my zon was 56, the ladder reset. After this, I started a meteorb sorc, which I got to level 10 and then realized that it wasn't catching my interest.

I originally wanted to start a barbarian but never did, thinking that you could only start a barbarian with good items. Now, I'm feeling determined enough to risk wasting my precious diablo hours making a useless char by starting a barbarian and playing untwinked.

Finally, down to my question, which barb works the best without good gear? I known whirlwind barbs are out of the question because of equipment requirements, and I'm pretty sure its difficult to make a frenzy barb without enigmas and what nots. However, I have heard it can be done....

Is it possible to make a viable concentrate barb? <- this is the one I'm most likely to try.