• These forum archives have been curated by the community bringing two decades of Diablo 2 knowledge to new players. They are purely for reference and cannot be posted in. Use the main PureDiablo forums for all new conversation.

Good SP beginning?

Aug 11, 2005
Northern California
Good SP beginning?

Considering that I'm only on dialup, I've mostly given up on Battle.net - the lag is really bad, with ping regularly at 500, so I'm going to single-player, something I haven't touched. I'm not sure, though, which type of character I should use to begin playing with. (I downloaded ATMA last night).

Should I start with a Hammerdin? That's my initial idea. Anyone have a better idea?

Hoop76

Jun 27, 2003
Indiana
Visit site
Sorc or Fishymancer are really good for starting with no gear. Hammerdin wouldnt be bad either i dont think, ive actually never played one far enough to know. I think i started with a Barb way back when i started playing. Probably not the best starter char. Anyway, good luck with whatever you use.

Aug 3, 2005
Alaska
You could start with anything, really. I would shoot for a Necro(Skellies), Sorc(Blizz or Orb), or Barbarian(Frenzy). The first 2 might be easier, but the Barbarian is still doable. I just started with a MA/Trapper Assassin and I must say it is not the best route to have taken for a first character, as my weapon and armor are much less then desired, so killing is slower then it could be.

If you want an easy and fast start, necro or sorc, but anything can work. Be wary of an Bowazon though :p

sirpoopsalot

May 24, 2005
dranking tequila
threeofnineteen said:
What the heck is a 'Fishymancer'? I just am not a big sorc fan - I never did get one to work, and I've never did a Hammerdin, so wanted to try it.

basically a necro that maxes:

raise skelly
skelly mastery
corpse explosion

... after that it's all gravy. search the forums for 'fishmancer 2.1', the complete guide should be around here somewhere.

BTW welcome.