• These forum archives have been curated by the community bringing two decades of Diablo 2 knowledge to new players. They are purely for reference and cannot be posted in. Use the main PureDiablo forums for all new conversation.

Cant connect to Battle.net

ElKapitan

Aug 5, 2005
London
Cant connect to Battle.net

im uber nrew to all this diablo stuff so im terribly sorry if i'm being a really stupid noob/newb BUT i just cant connect to battle.net, i cant even join a network game and can only host. i was wondering if the problem was the game, my ISP or some idiotic action of mine. obviously my firewall has allowed diablo2.exe and the game.exe full server access but it just doesnt work!!

i'm getting rather exhasperated only being able to host and not join LAN games as my connection isn't that great. any help is greatly appreciated and any information required will be duly given

sorry for the vagueness of this post i'm just really new to the game and a bit of a technophobe!

mhl12

Jul 3, 2004
USA
take a look at my bnet connection guide in my signature for some more info. If you still can't connect, post back here.

also, you should try to be a little more discriptive of your problem as what part is the connecting stuck on. (i.e. connecting to fastest server, checking verisons, etc.)

Orphan

May 23, 2004
It sounds like it might be an issue with ports. This would explain why you can host network games, but not join.

If your have Internet Service Pack 2 (for WinXP), you'll need to either disable the firewall that came with it, or open the ports. Blizzard lists how you can do that here: http://www.blizzard.com/support/?id=msi0549p

Additionally, if you have a router (ie, because of broadband connection) or your sharing the Internet through "Internet Connection Sharing" (ie, you gain access to the Internet through another computer), you'll need to open ports in relation to that too.

ElKapitan

Aug 5, 2005
London
as i said, sorry for the vagueness